Manchin-Toomey falls short, 4 Dems vote with GOP, Obama throws a tantrum

Pretty much all you need to know about the defeat of the much-discussed “compromise” amendment from Senators Manchin and Toomey. Β Here’s a full list of “defectors” from both sides:

Republicans who defected and voted “yes”:
Pennsylvania Sen. Pat Toomey
Illinois Sen. Mark Kirk
Maine Sen. Susan Collins
Arizona Sen. John McCain

Democrats who defected and voted “no”:
North Dakota Sen. Heidi Heitkamp
Arkansas Sen. Mark Pryor
Alaska Sen. Mark Begich
Montana Sen. Max Baucus
Nevada Sen. Harry Reid (Reid only voted no for procedural reasons, so that Democrats can call up the provision later on)

You can read our embarrassing celebrity President’s temper tantrum on this here (update: watch here) – complete with a photo demonstrating the use of predictable yet sympathetic political props, who I am not upset with – BTW. I’m disgusted with our President and his party using them, however, as if there are not those on the “other side” of this debate who have intensely personal reasons for not wanting the Manchin-Toomey amendment to pass. As always, the President, straw men firmly in hand, paints the opposition as “bought and paid for” while his is “people-driven.”

What a jerk.

Tweet of the Day:

Comments are closed.