Senator Pat Leahy: We’ll become just like the Taliban, Saddam’s Iraq if detainee bill passes (SENATE VOTE: Yeas 65, Nays 34)

This, I suppose, is Leahy’s way of trying to look tough on terror.

Greg Tinti has the video and transcript.

Sound familiar?

Here’s the latest on the Senate debate on the bill. The Republicans in the Senate displayed some backbone on this one, rejecting the moderate Republican Arlen Specter’s amendment to the bill, which, according to the NYT, would have created “a new system for interrogating and trying terror suspects that would have guaranteed such suspects access to the courts to challenge their imprisonment.”

Must-read: Bob Owens smacks down the NYT editorial page’s stance on the detainee bill.

Update I 4:51 PM: Stay tuned to Allah at Hot Air for the roll call on this vote – the Senate should be voting shortly.

Update II 6:07 PM: Leahy’s on CSPAN right now lying about the NIE report, claiming the adming “held on to it for six months” (which is a lie). Don’t these guys have any shame?

Lying Leahy
Lying Leahy

Update III 6:38 PM: They are voting now.

Update IV 7:01 PM: The usual suspects who have voted have voted so far have voted no: Levin, Leahy, Chafee, Reid. Keep it tuned to C-Span2 if you want to watch the votes as they roll in. I think I see Hillary and Leahy chatting it up. Bleh. Lieberman voted in favor.

Update V 7:05 PM: Yeas 65 – Nays 34

Update VI 7:34 PM: The roll call will be on this page. They have the link up but have not posted the votes.

Update VII 7:49 PM: The votes are posted. Here are the nays:

NAYs —34
Akaka (D-HI)
Baucus (D-MT)
Bayh (D-IN)
Biden (D-DE)
Bingaman (D-NM)
Boxer (D-CA)
Byrd (D-WV)
Cantwell (D-WA)
Chafee (R-RI)
Clinton (D-NY)
Conrad (D-ND)
Dayton (D-MN)
Dodd (D-CT)
Dorgan (D-ND)
Durbin (D-IL)
Feingold (D-WI)
Feinstein (D-CA)
Harkin (D-IA)
Inouye (D-HI)
Jeffords (I-VT)
Kennedy (D-MA)
Kerry (D-MA)
Kohl (D-WI)
Leahy (D-VT)
Levin (D-MI)
Lincoln (D-AR)
Mikulski (D-MD)
Murray (D-WA)
Obama (D-IL)
Reed (D-RI)
Reid (D-NV)
Sarbanes (D-MD)
Schumer (D-NY)
Wyden (D-OR)

Snowe didn’t vote.

Comments are closed.